Abby Sen (2015)


First Look

blog post

September 11, 2015

About Me

After completing post-graduation in journalism from the University of Calcutta, Atanu Ghosh started his career in 1996 as scriptwriter and director of documentary films, the first series being Pioneers of Indian Science for Doordarshan National Network. Thereafter, he branched out to fictional serials and telefilms. Atanu received Doordarshan National Award for Best Children's telefilm Aar ek Bampi in 2002. Another telefilm, Akashchhoan was selected for the 10th International Kolkata Film Festival, 2004. Sumitra Online was selected for the Telesamman Award for the Best Telefilm of 2005 and Asamapto for Best Direction in 2006. Megh Brishti Rodh fetched him the coveted RAPA Award for Best screenplay. He was awarded the prestigious Shyamal Sen Smriti Sammanfor 2008. He has also written a play for National School of Drama, New Delhi entitled "Ruh-ba-Ruh" directed by Kaushik Sen. Till date, he has directed 23 telefilms. Atanu Ghosh has also worked as scriptwriter and editor for many eminent directors. Also, he has directed over 30 documentary and corporate films for many reputed organisations. Atanu's debut feature film, Angshumaner Chhobi (A film by Angshuman) (2009) was selected in the Indian Panorama of the International Film Festival of India, 2009 as well as in Competitive Section, was awarded the prestigious Aravindan Puraskaram for the Best debut film of 2009, the Lankesh Chitra Prashasti (Karnataka State Award for India's Best Debut Director ) Bengal Film Journalist Award as well as Audience Award (Rainbow Film Festival,London) besides 13 other national and international awards. Takhan Teish (When he was 23) is his second film, which was released in 2011. It has been screened in film festivals like Shanghai International Film Festival, Osaka and many others. His third film Rupkatha Noy (2013) was nominated for the FIPRESCI Award for Best Indian Film 2013, was officially selected in many film festivals including Shanghai International Film Festival, Dhaka International Film Festival and many others. It received four Filmfare Awards including Best Film (Critic’s Choice), Best Actor (Critic’s choice)- Soumitra Chatterjee, Best Debut Actress (Sohini Sarkar), Best Female Playback Singer (Anwesha Dutta Gupta). His fourth film Ek Phaali Rodh (A Ray of Light) (2014) had its World Premiere at Shanghai International Film Festival in June 2014. His fifth  film  Abby Sen  released on 30th October 2015.







There are currently no blog comments.